Four African countries among 14 elected to Human Rights Council



Four African countries were on Tuesday elected to the United Nations Human Rights Council for the period 2023-2025 during a vote at the 77th United Nations General Assembly on Tuesday.

The four – Algeria, Morocco, South Africa and Sudan – were among 14 countries elected to the Council.

Other countries elected include Bangladesh, Belgium, Chile, Costa Rica, Georgia, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Romania, and Vietnam.

The Human Rights Council consists of 47 UN member states elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The Council's membership is based on equitable geographical distribution: Africa (13), Asia-Pacific (13), Eastern Europe (6), Latin American and Caribbean States (8) and Western Europe and other States (7).