Burundi's president swears in new electoral commission members



Burundian President Pierre Nkurunziza Tuesday swore in two new members of the National Independent Electoral Commission (CENI).

Annonciate Niyonkuru and Alice Nijimbere replace Spes-Caritas Ndironkeye and Illuminata Ndabahagamye, who resigned earlier this month.

The two new members took their oath before the Burundian president in the presence of both chambers of the parliament and diplomats accredited to Burundi.

In their oath they swore "fidelity to the Unity Charter, to the Burundian constitution and to the law."

They also committed to organize elections in "all independence with probity, impartiality and high sense of patriotism."

Niyonkuru and Nijimbere, both Tutsi, respectively replace Ndironkeye, who was the CENI Vice-President, and Ndabahagamye, who was in charge of finance and administration.

Niyonkuru is a member of the Union for National Progress (UPRONA) while Nijimbere is a member of the civil society.

On June 1, the two former members, both from the UPRONA, confirmed their resignation through separate letters sent to CENI President Pierre Claver Ndayicariye.

In their letters, they explained that "the prevailing political and security environment did not offer ideal conditions for holding elections" which are very important for the Burundian people.

With only three remaining commissioners, CENI could not make any decision as it required four out of its five commissioners to make decisions.

A new election schedule shows that legislative and communal polls will take place on June 29, the presidential election on July 15 and senatorial elections on July 24. Enditem